My Journalism Quest: Writing for Magazines class at Ryerson University

14 Sep

I attended my first class of Magazine Writing this Tuesday. Margarette Webb is going to teach us the craft of magazine writing. My first impression of our class and teacher are great. Looks like a bunch of talented passengers in a ships whose captain knows where to take us.

I liked the introduction part, where we were supposed to share a “powerful moment” in our life along with our names and day jobs. Its interesting how people find different things interesting, impact-full in their life. It was good.

Mine, fluid as I am, fluid as I have been, was an introduction started with usual “this is the way to pronounce my name”. I am glad that nobody will call me by a name that I don’t consider my very own. One step towards self recognition, I guess.

My impact moment was VoV. (I will talk about it sometimes later.)

Final part of the class was to interview one of the class fellows about their moment. Geoff and I set out to talk about it in bar nearby.

Once we were done with our interview Geoff said “Its easy to interview than being interviewed”. I have different take on that. I felt it was easy to be interviewed and I felt a little “intruding” when I was asking questions. Hopefully this is a phase thing and will go away with more interviews I do.

Before the class I had a coffee with my friend in processAsim. Asim has already taken Margaret’s class last semester. He shared these words of advice “If you will write the way you speak, then you will get a lot of editing from Margaret.”

So here I am learning from the craftswoman(c)- is there a word like that if not I want a copyright. Hopefully I will confront my fears, learn to accept and improve upon criticism, and move along.

I know it will change my life. 

Leave a Reply

