Visual Thinkers ! this is for you.

9 Sep

Are you like me?

Do you describe ideas more visually using back of napkins and small sticky figures, boxes and arrows. There is no idea big enough or complex enough that can not get some help from few lines, words, and pictures. I love to draw concepts.

As part of Product Management responsibilities sometimes this communication skill becomes handy. Development teams, marketing, sales, quality control, and executives they all need to be involved in various elements of my work. I have saved hundreds of hours of useless frustrations by walking up to a whiteboard and drawing few lines and sketches.  Goodness, people love when you just get their idea and rest of the energy is focused on more productive aspects of discussions.

I came across this wonderful technique – sketchcasting by Richard Ziade of Basement.org. Its just amazing and extremely simple. I have already started using it as part of my work and personal life.

Here is the technique in action, where he talks about Product Management trap (double treat for you product management fans out there.”

 

I am currently doing my sketching using mouse and pocket PC, I know its not a convenient way, but till I get my tablet PC its serving my needs.

I will post few of my sketchcasts soon.

 

Tags:

One Response to “Visual Thinkers ! this is for you.”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Imagine what a little money can do! « Dilawar - September 14, 2007

    […] a great way to visually present information. I have talked about Visual Thinking in my last post, but this is taking things a little real-life. Its almost like information is […]

Leave a comment